Bilingual Education: Planning Considerations

Date: 20210224

Time: 19:00:00

Timezone:

February 24th, 2021


This webinar is brought to you by Kognity for Cambridge Assessment International Education

High quality bilingual education programmes have been successfully implemented across the globe. Yet, some national or regional programmes have faced substantial obstacles and have had to in part close down. This presentation will highlight problems faced in Hong Kong and Malaysia as well as lessons learnt. Potentially, these have implications for schools in diverse contexts elsewhere in the world.

Additional common pitfalls in managing and leading bilingual schools will be explored, as will typical ways of managing these risks. Success factors will be discussed. Participants will be invited to reflect on some of their own management/leadership practices.

│São Paulo, Buenos Aires, Montevideo, Santiago 15:00 PM │Bogota, Quito, Lima 13:00 PM │Mexico City 12:00 PM│


Sorry, you missed the webinar! Sign up for the recording below.

 

About the host

 

Peeter Mehisto portraitPeeter Mehisto (University College London Institute of Education) has sparked ideas and facilitated stakeholder cooperation that has led to the launch of substantial new public programmes. In particular, he has supported the development and management of bilingual education programmes, at the primary, secondary and/or university levels in Asia, Mexico and Europe, including in Finland and Estonia. Estonia is one of the latest PISA (Program for International Student Assessment) stars. Currently, Peeter is researching Estonia’s PISA success story. He is also part of the OECD working group on the Future of Education and Skills 2030 initiative. His books include three about bilingual education published by Cambridge University Press.

 

 

CAIE logo