Welcome to Kognity’s IBDP Economics Bootcamp! 

Sign up to our expert-led sessions for inspiring ideas and insightful background knowledge that will help you teach the new syllabus! 

All sessions are free and open to all teachers.
All registrants will also receive access to recordings and slides for each session, and a certificate of completion.

September 15

10:00 AM (UTC +2)

Teaching IBDP Economics as Informed by Assessment 

Read more

05:00 PM (UTC +2)

IBDP Economics: Making sense of the new syllabus 

Read more

09:00 PM (UTC +2)

Making the most of the Internal Assessment 

Read more

September 16

2:00 PM (UTC +2)

IBDP Economics: Paper 3 – the new policy paper 

Read more

5:00 PM (UTC +2)

Concept based teaching and learning approaches in Economics 

Read more

September 17

1:00 PM (UTC +2)

Preparing students for the Paper 2

Read more

2:30 PM (UTC +2)

Differentiation strategies in the virtual classroom for the new IB Economics curriculum

Read more

Sign up

September 15

Teaching IBDP Economics as Informed by Assessment

Washington DC, US 4:00 AM (UTC -4) │Stockholm, Sweden 10:00 AM (UTC +2) │Dubai, UAE 12:00 PM (UTC +4) │Mumbai, India 1:30 PM (UTC +5:30) │Beijing, China 4:00 PM (UTC +8)

Assessment is an important tool to measure student achievement. But assessment can also play a key role to inform us how we can support student learning. Information from formative assessment helps us make modifications and adjustments to our teaching. In this webinar, we will explore a range of formative assessment techniques, and how we can use them to improve our teaching.

We will explore:

  • Types of formative assessment
  • When formative assessment is most effective
  • Student reflections
  • Assessments that model IB Economics formal summative assessments

Sign up

Picture of Jennifer Olmsted

Hosted by Jennifer Olmsted

Jen Olmsted has taught IBDP Economics for 23 years, and has been an examiner for paper 2, paper 3 and an IA moderator for almost 10 years. Jen has taught in a range of international schools from Hong Kong to Switzerland, and loves teaching students who have diverse backgrounds and bring different perspectives to the Economics classroom.

Picture of Steve Vorster

Hosted by Steve Vorster

Steve Vorster has been teaching IBDP Economics for many years. Until recently, he was the Head of Economics at United World College of South East Asia (Dover Campus) in Singapore. With a cohort of 300 DP Economic students, Steve managed a team of ten teachers who worked incredibly hard to continuously improve student engagement and attainment. He has also been an Examiner for IBDP Paper 2 and Paper 3. Steve is one of the IGCSE Economic authors at Kognity.

IBDP Economics: Making sense of the new syllabus

Washington DC, US 11:00 AM (UTC -4) │Stockholm, Sweden 5:00 PM (UTC +2) │Dubai, UAE 7:00 PM (UTC +4) │Mumbai, India 8:30 PM (UTC +5:30) │Beijing, China 11:00 PM (UTC +8)

The new syllabus is finally here. Are you ready to teach it?

Don’t make the mistake of thinking it is the old syllabus with a few tweaks. It is much more than that. But does it live up to its promise of being a more compact syllabus that allows room for additional inquiry based learning and the development of the nine new concepts? And theory of the firm packaged as market failure – how do I best approach that?

This webinar aims to provide a broad overview of all of the changes, before focussing on a few specific elements in more detail.

By the end of it, we will have: 

  • Identified all of the key changes made in the content.
  • Discussed concept based teaching and learning. 
  • Discussed approaches to the Theory of the Firm content.
  • Considered some key changes to the assessment model.

Sign up

Making the most of the Internal Assessment

Washington DC, US 3:00 PM (UTC -4) │Stockholm, Sweden 9:00 PM (UTC +2) │Dubai, UAE 11:00 PM (UTC +4) │Mumbai, India 0:30 AM (UTC +5:30) │Beijing, China 3:00 AM (UTC +8)

The commentaries in Economics provide excellent opportunities for students to gather real world examples for their exams but students don’t always make the most of this.

We will discuss:

  • How to select good articles
  • How to structure each commentary
  • How the mark scheme is applied
  • How to present the portfolio

Sign up

Picture of Emily Giles

Hosted by Emily Giles

Being a graduate of the IB Diploma Programme, Emily has always wanted to make the exams accessible to her own students. Her sole aim in her approach to teaching is to help students feel confident and competent. She has taught at international schools in the Netherlands and in the UK. She has been an examiner for Paper 2 and the IA for 8 years.

September 16

IBDP Economics: Paper 3 – the new policy paper

Washington DC, US 8:00 AM (UTC -4) │Stockholm, Sweden 2:00 PM (UTC +2) │Dubai, UAE 4:00 PM (UTC +4) │Mumbai, India 5:30 PM (UTC +5:30) │Beijing, China 8:00 PM (UTC +8)

The new paper 3 is a significant departure from previous examination papers. Students will be required to solve economic problems, and suggest appropriate policies. This will change the way we teach IB Economics in our classrooms. Students will have an opportunity to become Economists in their own right, suggesting and evaluating economic policies.

In this webinar, we will investigate the changes to paper 3 with a focus on;

  • The type of questions that may be asked on the new paper 3
  • How to help your students get a “7” for the paper
  • A range of strategies to teach the new paper 3

Sign up

Picture of Jennifer Olmsted

Hosted by Jennifer Olmsted

Jen Olmsted has taught IBDP Economics for 23 years, and has been an examiner for paper 2, paper 3 and an IA moderator for almost 10 years. Jen has taught in a range of international schools from Hong Kong to Switzerland, and loves teaching students who have diverse backgrounds and bring different perspectives to the Economics classroom.

Picture of Steve Vorster

Hosted by Steve Vorster

Steve Vorster has been teaching IBDP Economics for many years. Until recently, he was the Head of Economics at United World College of South East Asia (Dover Campus) in Singapore. With a cohort of 300 DP Economic students, Steve managed a team of ten teachers who worked incredibly hard to continuously improve student engagement and attainment. He has also been an Examiner for IBDP Paper 2 and Paper 3. Steve is one of the IGCSE Economic authors at Kognity.

Concept based teaching and learning approaches in Economics

Washington DC, US 11:00 AM (UTC -4) │Stockholm, Sweden 5:00 PM (UTC +2) │Dubai, UAE 7:00 PM (UTC +4) │Mumbai, India 8:30 PM (UTC +5:30) │Beijing, China 11:00 PM (UTC +8)

It is one thing to have definitions for the nine concepts which have been integrated into the 2022 Guide, but quite another to develop effective concept based teaching and learning (CBTL) strategies for use with our Economics students. The aim of this webinar is to provide you with practical and effective tools that can be used in your next lesson.

By the end of this webinar, you will be able to:

  • Understand the wider advantages that a CBTL approach offers your students.
  • Leverage the use of CBTL strategies to develop your students’ critical thinking, in such a way that it benefits all components (not just the IA’s).
  • Scaffold CBTL approaches over a period of time.
  • Have a ‘go-to’ toolbox of concept formation strategies that you can use over and over again.

Sign up

September 17

Preparing students for the Paper 2

Washington DC, US 7:00 AM (UTC -4) │Stockholm, Sweden 1:00 PM (UTC +2) │Dubai, UAE 3:00 PM (UTC +4) │Mumbai, India 4:30 PM (UTC +5:30) │Beijing, China 7:00 PM (UTC +8)

This session will help you to break down the paper 2 into manageable chunks so that students know how long to spend on each question and the best approaches to take to maximise their attainment.

We will discuss the 15 mark essay and what examiners are looking for in the best answers.

Sign up

Picture of Emily Giles

Hosted by Emily Giles

Being a graduate of the IB Diploma Programme, Emily has always wanted to make the exams accessible to her own students. Her sole aim in her approach to teaching is to help students feel confident and competent. She has taught at international schools in the Netherlands and in the UK. She has been an examiner for Paper 2 and the IA for 8 years.

Picture of Aparna Jha

Hosted by Aparna Jha

Aparna is an IB Economics educator with 10+ years of experience. She is also an IB examiner and IA moderator. She is the assessment author of Kognity’s new economics textbook and is the Associate Diploma Program Coordinator, Extended Essay Coordinator and IB Economics Educator at Heritage Xperiential International School in India.

Differentiation strategies in the virtual classroom for the new IB Economics curriculum

Washington DC, US 8:30 AM (UTC -4) │Stockholm, Sweden 2:30 PM (UTC +2) │Dubai, UAE 4:30 PM (UTC +4) │Mumbai, India 6:00 PM (UTC +5:30) │Beijing, China 8:30 PM (UTC +8)

In education, one size doesn’t fit all – each child is unique and so is his/her propensity to learn and attitude towards learning. Differentiated classrooms are the most engaged classrooms where each student gets the best possible chance to learn – thanks to the teachers who not only know their content but also their students to curate differentiated instructions.

The new IB economics curriculum has a lot more higher order skills for students to master than the previous syllabus, and that means that careful planning is imperative to ensure that learners of varying abilities are able to master those skills.

This session will focus on differentiation strategies for the new IB economics curriculum in a virtual classroom. The webinar host will share ideas from her own practices and experiences, in the hope that webinar participants will be able to implement some of the ideas in their very next class.

Sign up