Boosting Reading and Writing in IBDP Language B

student studying

October 14, 2021
10AM New York UTC-5  –  4PM Stockholm UTC+2  –  7.30PM India UTC+5.30

.

Reading and writing are key components in Language B. How can we boost reading and writing in the classroom? What are the main challenges our students face when confronting a reading comprehension or a piece of writing? In this webinar, we are going to focus on practical examples to improve the DP language B student’s reading and writing skills. From digital texts to visual cues, the use of synonyms, and the power of linking new words and expressions to produce better texts. Teachers will learn new strategies in order to improve these two areas of the language learned in the classroom.

 

About the host:

Víctor González has been teaching Modern Languages and IT for over 20 years, conducting workshops and seminars for language and IT teachers at the international level.

His interests lie in the fields of language curriculum and materials design through innovative digital tools. He has closely worked with The Educational Collaborative for International Schools (ECIS) as the Chair of the World Languages Special Interest Group (SIG) and his publications include language learning articles and film reviews for IS Magazine, Global Insights, Catalonia Today, El Punt Avui, and textbooks for the award-winning digital publisher Kognity and Cambridge University Press.

Víctor is an official International Baccalaureate Language B examiner and a subject leader in IT Competencies in Translation, Interpretation & Applied Languages at UOC (Open University of Catalonia). He also teaches IT and Spanish at the International School of Bremen. Please, visit his language website for more http://www.exuc.org